6/16 – Daily Digest

Today’s Daily Digest is a variety pack. 1st we have a look at some of the biggest ideas of the year courtesy of The Atlantic. Secondly, we have a little church challenge. And we wrap it all up with a confession of sin.

The 14 Biggest Ideas Of The YearThe Atlantic describes these as, “A guide to the intellectual trends that, for better or worse, are shaping America right now. (Plus a bunch of other ideas, insights, hypotheses, and provocations.)”  It’s a very interesting read. Let me highlight one of the trends so that you get an idea of what this article is about. Trend #13 is called The Maniac Will Be Televised. Here’s an excerpt:

If the old advice to electronic communicators was to speak in sound bites and keep things simple, to cut through the noise by being straightforward and countering confusion with consistency, the new winning strategy is the opposite: embrace incoherence and become the noise. The cool self-control that was once considered the soul of telegenic behavior has been turned inside out, and the traits that people used to suppress when they appeared on television—the contortions and tics—are now the best way to engage an audience. Attention-deficit disorder, remember, responds to stimulants, not sedatives.

The Uncommitted Church – I think Kevin DeYoung nails it with his look at 2 Chronicles.

One of the reasons churches fail is because they don’t call their people to commitment. An ad 1860 for the Pony Express read: “Wanted: Young, skinny, wiry fellows not over 18. Must be expert riders willing to risk daily. Orphans preferred.” Amazingly, they never had a shortage of riders. Too many churches give the opposite message: “Wanted: vaguely spiritual, cultural Christians. Must attend church sporadically, give miserly, and serve if you are into that sort of thing. Will tailor music, aesthetics, and preaching to fit your style. Ethical standards are minimal and beliefs are negotiable.” The church needs to compromise less and call for commitment more.

Does your church do a good job of calling people to commitment? If so, comment below and let us know how it’s done. It’s a needed thing in our churches.

Are You A Sentence Hijacker? – Do you like to finish other people’s sentences? I do. So does this guy. Swap a few details around, lessen the quality of the writing, and I could’ve written this post. H/T @challies

So what do I do? If you pause mid-sentence to consider what to say next then I’ll frequently and shamelessly jump on the dangling sentence’s back and ride it on into conversational safety.

He mentions a few reasons why he does this, and I would have to say I have 2 primary reasons. 1) Lack of patience. I think I know what’s coming next so instead of waiting I’ll just save the time and blurt it out. 2) Competition. I know it sounds dumb, but if I go back to reason #1 and blurt out the wrong thing I just lost. If I blurt out the right thing I can pat myself on the back for being a mind reader. It’s definitely something I need to work on.

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Digest

Leave a Reply

