Facebook: Revisited

Last week I mentioned I was deleting my Facebook account here. All the reasons I had for deleting it are still valid, but I have had a change of heart with some newly imposed parameters.

This past weekend I was at my brother’s wedding so I got to see a lot of family. It’s always good to see family, and it’s rare that we all get together. We’ve been fortunate to be able to do that the past 2 years because of my wedding and now Sam’s. However, I am able to stay updated on their lives via Facebook, and I don’t want to miss out on that connection. The same can be said for really good friends of mine. It’s no mystery that as you get older and life situations change it’s harder to stay in touch with what’s going on with everyone, their kids, etc. Facebook provides a forum for that to happen. My beef has been with knowing that about 200+ people I don’t really know. Getting sucked in to all their status updates and photos was a time consumer. Call me a sell out, but I don’t mind getting sucked into those things when it involves real life friends and family.

So, what are my new parameters? I narrowed my friend list down from 270+ to 23. 14 of those I’m related to. The other 9 are former roommates or people I communicate with regularly in real life. If you’re reading this and were a friend on facebook and aren’t now it’s not that you’re not a real friend. You are more than likely reading this because you saw the link on Twitter. I tried to remove duplicates because if we connect on Twitter we don’t need to connect on Facebook.

I also made my Facebook profile unsearchable. This will hopefully allow me to avoid having to deny someone’s friend request. I’m not sure if this will work or not, but I can already say it’s been nice. I made this change yesterday and I had 2 new status updates from friends all day. Perfect.

If you don’t want to delete all your facebook friends like I did, but still want to avoid wasting time on it, consider LeechBlock (H/T @challies).

LeechBlock is a kind of auto-nanny: it’s a free Firefox add-on that blocks chosen Web sites at certain times on certain days and for different time periods. The idea is to automatically block time-wasting sites at times when you’re supposed to be getting some work done.

Happy social networking!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

