“The God Switcheroo”

I don’t know who else is like me in this, but sometime my theology seems to be all jacked up.  Case in point is what I’ll call the “God Switcheroo.”  This is bad theological lie that I buy into #27.

It goes something like this:

Me: I want to trust God more.  I’ll pray for a greater faith and reliance on Him.  BUT before I get to praying that my thoughts are overwhelmed with thoughts that God is saying, “Ha.  I’ve got him now.  I’ll get that reliance out of him by having him lose his legs in a tragic treadmill accident.”  Or something to that effect.

How jacked up is that?  And it happens often.

But I was struck today when reading Luke 11:11-13 which basically says if you human dads know not to give your kid a snake when he asks for a fish don’t you think God knows how to give good gifts to his children.

I hate snakes.  They scare me senseless so I identify with this.

It’s like I fear God will give me the thing I’m scared of the most when all He wants to do is provide for me.

If you’re like me in this regard, and I hope you’re not, be confident in God’s goodness in your prayer life.  Pray boldly believing the best in God to not only be sovereign, but to be good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

