Hitting the Wrong Target

I was doing some thinking in light of an assignment about ministry vision, etc.  All those words that seem important in seminary and usually fall flat in the face of real ministry outside the walls thereof.  But I realized how easy it is to view the means as an end very subconsciously.

If I say my end is life transformation (becoming more and more like Christ we’ll say), both mine and those I’m ministering to, that sounds nice.  But what happens is I lose sight of that end in the midst of comprising steps to get there.  So then my ends become having a quiet time, spending x # of minutes in prayer, being involved in this or that ministry.  And before I know it I’m doing all of these things and having 0 transformation.

I’ve made the end all of these tasks and have now been sapped of the excitement of the original end of being transformed. Frustration sets in as I recall this list of things I’ve done with no noticeable transformation.  I’ve hit just what I was aiming for though.  Unfortunately it was the wrong target.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

