God’s Will Today

I can’t say enough good things about Francis Chan’s Forgotten God.  If you are remotely interested in the role of the Holy Spirit this book is for you.

I was reading last night a chapter on “God’s will for your life.”  I think my college years were filled with nothing but prayers for “God’s will.”  I could paralyze myself into inaction living in fear of making a wrong decision.  In fact at every major junction in life I seek this, which in and of itself is certainly not bad.  As Jesus, himself, prayed to God, “Not my will but Your will…”  However I notice that the “will” I’m always seeking is this major future decision.  How often am I praying for God’s will in my daily interactions, conversations, decisions, etc?

God has yet to give me a 5 year plan, but He has promised to never leave me or forsake me.  As I look out now at graduating and getting married my need seems to be to know how everything is going to play out and exactly when.  Yet not my will, but God’s will for today.

From p. 120, “I think a lot of us need to forget about God’s will for my life. God cares more about our response to His Spirit’s leading today, in this moment, than about what we intend to do next year.  In fact, the decisions we make next year will be profoundly affected by the degree to which we submit to the Spirit right now, in today’s decisions…It’s much less demanding to think about God’s will for your future than it is to ask Him what He wants you to do in the next ten minutes.

None of this is an excuse for not praying about future decisions or for planning.  It is a call to myself though to not engage in those things at the expense of living in the moment without a perceived need for God’s will in the present.

Give us this day our daily bread, moment by moment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

