Daylight Savings, Succumb to Christ?, and Louisiana really is that backwards

I am overcome by such curiosity as to what life would be like without Daylight Savings Time.  I wish there was a way we could just try it for a year.  In fact I may leave a clock constant all year just so I will know.  We might like it since it basically outlived its purpose once a little thing called the Industrial Revolution roared through town.

‘Uh… Okay. The Industrial Revolution to me is just like a story I know called “The Puppy Who Lost His Way.” The world was changing, and the puppy was getting… bigger.’ (Shout out to Billy Madison)

This morning’s QT had me in 2 Peter 2.  The second part of verse 19, as translated in the NET, caught my attention.

For whatever a person succumbs to, to that he is enslaved.

It’s referencing false prophets being enslaved to immorality, but it got me thinking about the positive aspect of that.  Paul often refers to himself as a bondservant or slave of Christ indicating he has “succumbed” to Christ.  We are called to yield to His plan and His work in our lives.  How hard it is to not fight against that out of pride to do things my own way.  What does that say about me?  Am I succumbing to my own will and independence such that I am enslaved to it?  What are you succumbing to?  God help me to yield my own way to Yours.

And finally, it’s sad to say but Louisiana has issues.  Every Southerner wants to vault their own state above any other Southern state, but I’m standing by this one.  An article (link below) referenced a white American couple who had served as missionaries in Tanzania and subsequently adopted children from there.  Apparently churches, yes the organized, visible body of Christ in this country, thought that was just not cool.

“While most churches they visited during their last stateside assignment accepted the Washburn family, several in Louisiana did not. When some churches learned about the Tanzanian children, they called special business meetings to decide whether to extend speaking engagements to the couple. One church refused to have them speak.”

Really Louisiana?  Really Christians? http://tinyurl.com/yk3tx69

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Daylight Savings, Succumb to Christ?, and Louisiana really is that backwards

  1. Heather

    It is very sad when Christians are so unaccepting and unloving. When churches, who are supposed to be acting on behalf of Christ, so blatantly do not, it is sickening. On a side note, I never have been a big Louisiana fan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

